Caddie Network

FAQ: Do caddies ever get to veto a player’s decision?

Gary Woodland, Brennan Little
PGA Tour caddies answer the most frequently asked questions from our Caddie Network readers and followers. Credit: John David Mercer-USA TODAY Sports

Through our readers and social media followers here at The Caddie Network, we often receive questions related to the caddie profession. We’ve collected the most frequently asked questions from our readers and followers and tasked actual PGA Tour caddies to serve up the answers based on their experiences. Here are the answers — from PGA Tour caddies — to the questions we most often receive from you.

These days, more than ever before, player and caddie are viewed as a team. They talk over every shot and typically come to a decision together. Are there times when the caddie can overrule the player on a particular shot or club selection? Well, that all depends.

Do caddies ever get to veto a player’s decision?

It all depends on the player. Some allow their caddies to veto and some don’t. One of my players I had to ask every year, “am I allowed to say something if I don’t think you have the right club?” His response every year was, “when I want your advice, I’ll ask for it.”

I personally don’t look at it as a veto, though. Because the player is ultimately making the last decision.

Do you have more caddie questions? We have more caddie answers. From “Are there certifications or education/training requirements to be a caddie?to “Where should you stand when someone is putting?,” our pros have you covered with over 20 FAQs – just click here.

Exit mobile version