The 2019 PGA Tour season is back in full swing as 30 of last year’s tournament winners traveled to beautiful Kapalua, Maui, Hawaii for the Sentry Tournament of Champions. This is a tournament that always features some of the most picturesque views of the year, and our favorite bagmen took to social to share their experiences.
Kenny Harms and Kevin Na took to the skies for a zip-lining excursion earlier in the week, which the caddie shared on his Instagram page. A dangerous sport in itself, one understandably might wonder if that day contributed in any way to Na’s eventual WD from the tournament after citing pain in his finger. Harms responded to that very question posed by a commenter on Instagram and said, “No, it happened when he was at home.”
The first tournament of the season also introduced players and their caddies to a flurry of rules changes that went into effect January 1st. As the Golf Channel’s Rex Hoggard captured in a tweet from the player’s area, these rules were front-and-center for all to review:
The rule changes made easy (or not) for players in Maui. USGA officials at Kapalua today to answer questions for players. Should be an interesting talk. pic.twitter.com/h70WlpgACU
— Rex Hoggard (@RexHoggardGC) January 1, 2019
During a pre-tournament press conference Dustin Johnson was asked how his caddie, brother Austin, has adapted to and memorized the new rules. DJ’s response was definitely what you would expect from an older brother.
The more I read the stuff Dustin Johnson says the more I’m convinced he’s actually quite clever but likes to play the “lights are on but nobody’s home” role. pic.twitter.com/bA0q3iQo2t
— GolfCentralDaily | Doc (@golfcentraldoc) January 5, 2019
As it turns out, a little refresher on the rules may have helped DJ in the second round as he found himself wrapped up in a rules controversy after hitting a wrong ball. To be fair, however, this has always been a rule and is unrelated to any changes.
‘That won’t ever happen again’ – https://t.co/3dl1S0lwFo
KAPALUA, Hawaii – Dustin Johnson knew he screwed up pretty soon after it happened.
He hit his tee shot left of the fairway into a native area and by the time he got there a marshall had already marked the spot and told…
— Bri Shan (@brishanusa) January 5, 2019